Delta Omega Honorary Society

2016 Chapter of the Year

Congratulations to the Gamma Mu Chapter of Delta Omega at the WVU School of Public Health! The chapter earned the honor for the fourth year in a row. School of Public Health students and faculty received the award at Delta Omega's annual business meeting Oct. 31 in Denver.

About Us

Delta Omega is the honorary society for graduate students in public health. The Society was founded in 1924 at Johns Hopkins University, School of Public Health. There are currently 71 chapters and 14,000 members throughout the world. Membership in Delta Omega reflects the dedication of an individual to increasing the quality of the field, as well as to the protection and advancement of the health of all people. The national office is located at the Association of Schools of Public Health in Washington, D.C. Any questions concerning Delta Omega can be sent to the Executive Secretary, Allison Foster at or visit the Delta Omega web page at For information about the Gamma Mu Chapter at West Virginia School of Public Health, contact Amy Hunter.

The constitution and by-laws were adopted in 1927, and have been amended occasionally since. The National Council, composed of elected officers and representatives of each chapter, meets annually. The annual meeting includes a scientific, and a business program. It is usually held in conjunction with the annual meeting of the American Public Health Association. Each chapter conducts the principle Delta Omega activities. The chapters elect new members each year from three groups: students who are candidates for a graduate degree in public health, faculty members at the school of public health, and alumni actively engaged in public health work.
At the West Virginia University School of Public Health, membership election from all three groups is based on outstanding performance – scholarship, participation in Student Association of Public Health (SAPH), participation in Gamma Mu community service in students, teaching, research and service in faculty, and practice of public health in alumni. Election to membership in Delta Omega is intended not only to recognize merit, but also to encourage further excellence in and devotion to public health work. Inductions are held each year during the School of Public Health’s Spring Banquet. The Gamma Mu chapter inducts up to 10% of the graduating student body, who are in the upper 25% academically and who have participated in greater than or equal to 50% of the SAPH yearly-activities as well as 100% of Gamma Mu activities. Applicants selected for membership will be responsible for his or her $50.00 lifetime membership dues prior to induction. Inquiries regarding the membership process should be directed to Amy Hunter.
Since Delta Omega's establishment in 1924, the meaning and scope of public health has broadened tremendously. While it is still seriously concerned with problems of environmental sanitation and communicable disease control, public health action has come to embrace all aspects of health and disease in populations. These include the planning, organization, and support of health promotion, disease prevention, and medical care. Basic to modern public health are the social sciences as well as the natural sciences--both in the United States and internationally.

2016-2017 Executive Officers

President - Amy Hunter

Co-Vice President - Elizabeth Claydon, Angie Dyer

Co-Secretary - Emily Morgan, Sherry Owens, Sabena Thomas

Faculty Advisor - Dr. Keith Zullig

Past President - Termeh Feinberg