School of Public Health honored with Chapter of the Year Award

Congratulations are in order for the Gamma Mu Chapter of Delta Omega at the WVU School of Public Health; the honorary society was recently selected as Chapter of the Year. This marks a three-peat for WVU; the Gamma Mu Chapter has won the award for the past three years.

“This is a well-deserved honor for our students,” said Keith Zullig, MSPH, Ph.D., Chair of the Department of Social and Behavioral Sciences in the School of Public Health. Dr. Zullig serves as faculty advisor for the Gamma Mu Chapter of the Delta Omega Honorary Society. “Being involved with Delta Omega is important to me because it is a student-driven platform with dual missions of community engagement and professional development.”

On Nov. 2, Sherry Owens, co-secretary of the Gamma Mu Chapter at WVU and Amy Hunter, vice president, traveled to Chicago to accept this year’s award at the annual national meeting of the American Public Health Association.

Delta Omega is the honorary society for graduate studies in Public Health. The Society was founded in 1924 and has now over 70 chapters nationwide. Since the establishment of the School of Public Health in 2012, West Virginia University’s Gamma Mu chapter has been selected as Chapter of the Year every year.